A Church Without Churches

Does Mainline Protestantism care about the local church?

Dennis Sanders
8 min readApr 5, 2022
Photo by v2osk on Unsplash

The following is adapted from an article I wrote in 2012.

I’ve been what could be considered a Mainline Protestant for 30 years. In those 30 years, I’ve learned something about mainliners:

We really suck at planting churches.

Let me back up a moment. I started attending Calvary Baptist Church in located in the Chinatown area of Washington, DC in the fall of 1992. It was and is an American Baptist congregation and like many mainline churches was active in the community. Since I darkened the doors of Calvary, I’ve been part of Mainline Protestantism. I moved to Minneapolis and joined a Disciples of Christ congregation which became my denominational home. I’ve pastored Mainline Protestant congregations and worked in communications at churches and other religious bodies. So, yeah, I’m a Mainline Protestant.

If there’s a theme that has been running in the background all these years, it’s the one about liberal Protestants being in decline. All of the major Mainline Protestant denominations keep experiencing decline, with more and more churches closing and the surviving congregations growing grayer and grayer.
I’ve been around enough to see how we deal with this issue. Sometimes we ignore it and talk about the…

--

--

Dennis Sanders

Middle-aged Midwesterner. I write about religion, politics and culture. Podcast: churchandmain.org newsletter: https://churchandmain.substack.com/