Democracy Dies In Despair

It’s the loss of hope that can kill a democracy.

Dennis Sanders
6 min readNov 8, 2022

I’m not looking forward to election night.

I think a number of candidates that are not ready for primetime, who built their campaigns on division and lies will win Tuesday. I think the upcoming Congress will be an endless of stream of crap and not focused on, you know governing.

I’m not optimistic about our future as a nation. But I am hopeful.

That said, many people are fearful that democracy in America will be dead as of November 9, 2022. Democracy is on the ballot, they say.

Take a few minute and listen to this monologue by Bill Maher about the midterms. I don’t think I’m wrong in seeing this as a eulogy to American democracy:

For those who didn’t want to watch the video here is a quote:

“This really is the crossing the Rubicon moment when the election deniers are elected, which is often how countries slide into authoritarianism, not with tanks in the streets, but by electing the people who then have no…

--

--

Dennis Sanders

Middle-aged Midwesterner. I write about religion, politics and culture. Podcast: churchandmain.org newsletter: https://churchandmain.substack.com/