The Ups and Downs of Being a Writer with ADHD

How I’m learning to write with my ADHD Brain.

Dennis Sanders
6 min readDec 20, 2020
Photo courtesy Canstock Photo

I remember sitting in my dorm room as I tried to finish my story. I was in my senior year in college and I was in the second semester of a journalism class at Michigan State that gives J-students real-world experience as reporters for newspapers and radio stations throughout Michigan.

It was always difficult, worked hard to make sure the story was correct. I had my notes out in front of me as typed, flipping the notepad back and forth to check over and over. It was so hard to remember what was said. Did I remember that quote correctly?

I loved writing a story and still do. But as I look back to that memory of me sitting in my dorm room on a spring day in 1991, I can remember how much of a chore it was to write. It took forever to write that story. Frankly, any story took forever to write.

Writing for me has always been a chore. But I wanted to write. Why couldn’t I write a simple news story? When I wrote, it was always hard to focus on the task at hand. When I was focused on the story, I had a hard time remembering what my interviewee said I was so scared I was going to get what they said was wrong. Never had I loved something that was also complete torture.

--

--

Dennis Sanders

Middle-aged Midwesterner. I write about religion, politics and culture. Podcast: churchandmain.org newsletter: https://churchandmain.substack.com/